This weekend (again instead of studying), I made vegan cinnamon buns. When I found out I was allergic to dairy I was devastated that I’d never be able to make sticky buns again, but after some web searching I found a recipe that looked pretty good on Vegan Yum Yum’s blog. In my short time as a dairy free baker I’ve tried to look for recipes that contain normal ingredients, a lot of them have weird things like xanthum gum (WTF is that?), so this one looked super normal, and super similar to regular old recipes.

I don’t want to steal Vegan Yum Yum’s thunder, so you should follow the recipe on her site (linked above), however, I made a few slight modifications that make them just a little yummier! So, here we go…

First, she suggests certain brands. Use Earth Balance margarine, like she says, it’s engineered for baking, use Tofutti Cream Cheese, use any soymilk you like, and use any egg replacer you like. For the wet ingredients in the batter, I had to let mine cool a but after I melted them all together, I just put the bowl in the freezer for about 10 minutes, and it was at the right temp. You really don’t want it to be too hot, or it will kill the yeast like she says, but its pretty hard to melt butter without getting the pan hot, so some cooling time will be needed.

Next, I didn’t need to knead the dough for 8 minutes, mine took more like 4 or 5, her video is good, watch it for technique! My dough did take a little longer to rise because I followed her “oven” instructions of putting the dough in a warm spot, but it got a little too warm, so I had to take it out and let it cool down. But, if you do the “warm spot” right yours should take 90 minutes too!

For the filling of the buns, I used brown sugar instead of white sugar and I also used brown sugar instead of white sugar for the pan sauce, it’s just more flavorful than white, and gives the buns that ooey-gooey caramel taste. Lastly, I also added a few pecans to the filling, I just sprinkled them on top!

And, for the frosting, I let the earth balance and tofutti get to room temp and then I beat the frosting ingredients with an electric mixer, way easier than doing it by hand. Put the frosting on right when the buns come out of the oven if you want it to melt in, or put a dollop on top once they cool. You can’t go wrong, it’s just personal preference!

They came out great, best served warm of course! They aren’t good for you, but they still have less fat and cholesterol than regular buns.

