This morning I woke up at the ungodly hour of 7:15 (I don’t even wake up that early for work) for an 8:30 appointment at the Aveda Institute in Gallery Place. It is an Aveda beauty school, so students cut and color your hair for highly discounted prices. I needed a haircut and I’ve heard great things about it, so I took the plunge. My stylist Michelle was about to graduate and boy was she good.

I was very impressed with the results and will definitely return again. Plus you cannot beat $57 for a haircut and half foil (Translation for Marc: a half foil is getting highlights in your hair and it usually costs anywhere from $100 to $200 for a really good stylist). Michelle would give Vidal Sasson a run for his money.

Once home I buzzed around a bit and drove over to Capitol hill to meet up with Kate. We went over to the Capitol Hill Car Barn, to the home of Jen and Michael, to use their pool. Back in the olden days, DC used to have streetcars. There was a “car barn” in each quadrant to store the streetcars when not in service. The NW Car Barn in Georgetown has been converted into office, and the NE Car Barn in Capitol Hill has been converted into condos, most importantly, they have a pool.

We baked in the 90 degree heat for about two hours and when we couldn’t take it anymore drank some mojitos. Around 5pm I met Elly in Friendship Heights, YAY. We haven’t seen each other since she got to DC for the summer. We obvs shopped and Elly found a dress for an upcoming wedding. I found something even better, you will see what it is soon…

We went back to my house and got dinner at Thaiphoon and passion fruit vodka at the liquor store. Tommy came to join us and we sipped the night away. I was so excited about my new purchase the a photo shoot was necessary.

Notice we are also both wearing red. Theme.

They are Ray Ban Wayfarer sunglasses. I saw them in a magazine a few weeks ago and was in love. They just came out with this new color combo. Since I have one practical pair of sunglasses I allowed myself to buy these for a treat. I deserve it. I’m hot, so is Tommy (I allowed him to try them on)

After some more drinks and a requisite Elly/Char pic we made our way to Soussi and smoked a mixed fruit hookah. I don’t know what it is with me, my friends and hookas lately, but it was fun.

Jay met up with us a little into the ordeal and we all enjoyed the company, the chicha and some drinks

