For our January book club meeting we all have to read a different book and do a little report, a la Mr. Lombard’s class in 4th grade. Since I am going on a two week jaunt to Europe I will have PLENTY of time to do some reading on various trains and planes. The problem is, there are so many books I want to read I don’t know how I’ll be able to narrow it down for my assignment. Below is a list of titles I have on deck. Let me know which one you’d most like to hear a report about!

Breaking Dawn: Book Four of the Twilight saga. Does Bella finally become a vampire? I have my theories… This book will definitely be read on the trip no matter what, I ordered it from Amazon today. However, it might not be the best pick as I don’t want to ruin the series for the rest of the club. Except of course Michelle who probably finished it in 2 hours flat!

breaking_dawn_cover_by_tranquilitysurreil

Under the Banner of Heaven: A non-fiction work by Jon Krakauer (author of Into the Wild) about Mormons. The author uses the chilling story of offshoot Mormon fundamentalist brothers Dan and Ron Lafferty, who in 1984 brutally butchered their sister-in-law and 15-month-old niece in the name of a divine revelation (opiate of the masses, opiate of the masses) to explore the history of the Mormon Church. I’ve been told it’s pretty fascinating and I am oddly obsessed with all that weird Mormon stuff ever since that South Park episode where Cartman went back in time to learn about the religion.

The Other Queen: Phillipia Gregory’s (author of The Other Boelyn Girl) latest work, about Mary Queen of Scot’s and her “imprisonment” in England by Queen ElizabethI. Petty girl fight to the max, Elizabeth was not as hot as Mary and man was she jealous. When the Scot’s Lords drove Mary out of Scotland Liz didn’t help her get that throne back. She cut off her head instead! Historical fiction at it’s finest.

Nicholas and Alexandra: Another non-fiction work about the lives of the Last Tsar and Tsarina of Russia by Robert K. Massie. I’ve been told it reads more like a novel than a historical work (plus points for me). It was published before the fall of the Communist regime, so a lot of records about their “execution” weren’t out yet, but supposedly the author really dug up some good stuff. Though I’ve always been obsessed with the British Royals I’ve never dabbled in Russia, it’s time.

The Tales of Beedle the Bard: This is J.K. Rowlings latest. A collection of five Wizard Tales (think Aesop or Brother’s Grimm) with commentary by Professor Albus Percival Wulfric Brian Dumbledore, who brings his unique wizard’s-eye perspective to the collection. Discovered “among the many papers which Dumbledoreleft in his will to the Hogwarts Archives.” Every witch and wizard has grown up with these tales, as is mentioned in the Harry Potter series. It could be a great one to report on since it will offer many lessons to wizards and muggles alike.

beedle

So readers what say you, Mormons, Bards, doomed Tsars, Vampires, or Queens (no not that kind Tommy)? Leave your opinions for me!

