This Sunday Marc and I are off to Prague, Budapest and Vienna for a Christmas trip. Flights were cheap, luxury hotels were almost free, and the Euro is 1.2 to the dollar. YAY! We fly into Prague, then take the train to Vienna on Christmas day and are in Budapest for New Year’s, we return to the USA on the 1st. I’ve never been to any of these cities, but I’ve done some research and read “36 Hours in ___” for each one. Thanks New York Times!

I will do some travel blogging on the road, but here’s a quick run down of our trip:

Praha

We are staying at the Mandarin Oriental, stay two nights, get one free. I am excited to check out the sights, go to the Christmas markets, and drink mulled wine. The only thing I really know about Prague is from Manu Chao who says in one of his songs “Me Gusta Mala Strana, me gustas tu…” The Mala Strana is the old quarter of the city where we are staying. I love to say the word, can’t wait to tell my cab driver “Mala Strana Prosim (please).”

praha1Mala Strana

Wien

I’ve always wanted to go here, ever since I saw the Sound of Music when I was little. We are staying at Le Meridien. I can’t wait to see the Cathedral, which I wrote a paper about in college. We are going to a Mozart and Strauss concert and I’ve been told I must take a cheesy carriage ride. We will! I also can’t wait to buy sausages on the street and eat apflestrudel.

wolfgang-amadeus-mozartWolfgang

Budapest

The castle looks amazing, so does our hotel, the Sofitel. We are looking forward to the thermal baths and cheap massages (per Maggie and Kathleen’s recommendation) and will be spending New Year’s on a boat in the Danube listening to DJ Parov spin his Eastern European tunes. The website for the event tells me: “Werar the clothes of the 20-ies – charleston – if you like. The music will fit for a party like that.” Hmmm, should I bring my flapper dress? I”ll let you know what I decide.

buda-castleBuda Castle

Bon Voyage and Merry Christmas to all!

