Today I head to Colorado for a ski trip to Vail and Beaver Creek. Thanks to some cheap airline tickets and lift ticket discounts I’m able to make the trek. We are flying right into Eagle County Regional Airport, a few miles from Vail and will be chilling at the Holiday Inn Apex Vail. I’m a rewards member so we have a mini fridge in our room to keep the Blue Moon (brewed in CO) cold. I win.

Instead of getting ripped off by CME transportation to and from the airport we also scored a great rental car deal on Hotwire.com, so instead we’ll get ripped off on parking at Beaver Creek Resort. I can’t wait! There will be 2 days of skiing at Vail and 2 days  at Beaver Creek, plenty of burgers, chili and apres ski cocktails. We’ll also be taking advantage of the massage place at our hotel. Only $65 for an hour long, I’ll let you know how it is.

The weather forecast is looking sunny, with at least a day of snow and temps in the 30’s to 40’s. Both mountains have a base of at least 63 inches. Should make for some great conditions, especially in the back bowls (note to readers, whenever writing about Colorado ski resorts you must throw out something about the back bowls, so as to sound hard core and with the program. You can also use terms like pow and dank to describe the conditions) China Bowl? Yes please.

I’m all packed and ready to go, with my Patagonia Capilene, level 3, and some new snowpants to boot!

img_4197

I’ll post a full report from the slopes.

