Has anyone heard of Mika besides myself, Tommy (thanks to me), Marc, Melindita and Kristen? Yeah, that’s what I thought, you haven’t. Welp now you have. Mika is a Lebanese born British singer who is totes.awesome.com. He is most known for his song Grace Kelly which reached #1 on the British Singles chart in January 2007 and stayed there for 5 weeks. However, it did not reach #1 status in the US, there’s not a concrete reason why, but it’s probably because American’s aren’t cool enough. Oh well.

His first album, Life in Cartoon Motion, was released in February 2007. Marc somehow discovered it (probably by reading something trendy like NY Mag), bought it (via iTunes, obvs) and shared it with me.

Life-in-cartoon-motion

One of the best songs is probably Lollipop, just listen, you’ll want to sing and dance and be 5. I had the priviledge of going to one of his concerts in DC at the 9:30 club. It was small and we were sitting right near his Mom (inspiration for his song “Big Girls”). It was a wonderful show, Mika is a performer and loves the crowd. Have you ever been to a concert where life-sized teddy bears dance on-stage (besides Raffi) and bubbles float around? Yeah that’s what I thought.

So why am I writing all about Mika anyways? Welp, he came out with his second CD on September 21st called The Boy Who Knew Too Much. The songs are all very Mika, just go listen, let me know your favorite song and I’ll tell you mine!

MikaTheBoy

You can preview the album on iTunes or his website. He’s also touring around the US at the moment. I missed the Boston Concert (lots of tears), but perhaps you can catch him elsewhere.

