Since I have a few days off before my internship starts it’s time to relax and enjoy the little summer I have before I must work. Yesterday I made my favorite Sangria recipe from the Rancho La Puerta Cookbook. My mother loves Rancho, as she calls it, and since I haven’t even had the pleasure of going, I just love the Sangria. Using fruit juices and agave nectar to sweeten the drink make all the difference!

The recipe is as follows:

1 Bottle Light-Bodied Red wine like Pinot Noir or Beaujolais or even Cabernet Savignon

1 Orange, thinly sliced

1 Lemon, thinly sliced

1 Lime, thinly sliced

1 Cup Fresh Grape Juice (you can just use Welch’s White Grape)

1 Cup Fresh Apple Juice (Mott’s works too!)

3 Cinnamon Sticks (or just a sprinkle of cinnamon, or none)

1/2 cup Agave Syrup  (I would just do a little sugar to taste or less agave syrup, half a cup might be too sweet, you can buy it at any grocery store now next to the honey, great to sweeten tea or other recipes too)

Combine all the ingridients in a pitches and stir it up! Chill for at least two hours before serving.

