As you can tell from a few of my recent posts I’ve been on quite the nutrition kick this summer. I’ve decided to take it to the next level this week with a Blueprint Cleanse. I learned about Blueprint almost two years ago from the gals over at Non-Society and when Mary Rambin put a discount code on her blog a few weeks back I decided it was time.

There are a lot of cleanses out there, coolercleanse (thanks Dori), Red Carpet Cleanse, the good old master cleanse (scary) and more. I decided on Blueprint mainly because of the price ($200 with my discount) and the fact I wasn’t paying extra for shipping. Yes, it’s a bit more than your might spend on regular food for three days, but it’s not something you do every week. So, the price is justified to me ( I was able to pick it up at Exhale Spa right here in Boston). Blueprint used to be available to New Yorkers only, but about a year ago they started shipping nationwide, and about six months ago started offering pickup locations other than NYC/CT.

Here’s the box full of my juices, complete with some nifty ice packs of course.

 So what is a cleanse and why in the world am I doing it? Well, straight from the BPC site:

“As the result of the pollutants in the air we breathe and chemicals in the food and water we consume, the body accumulates toxins. Every once in while the body needs to rid itself of these toxins. Blueprint Cleanse is a NUTRITIONAL Cleanse that is effective in helping the body detoxify itself and move through this “low” or detox cycle faster and with fewer symptoms. Cleansing is recommended for many illnesses, as it gives the body the rest it needs to recover. Take away the work of digesting food and one allows the system to rid itself of old toxins while facilitating healing.”

Depending on the length of the Cleanse, it accomplishes different things. The three-day “Renovation” Cleanse I’m doing helps the body rid itself of old built up matter and cleanses the blood. With my dairy issue, my intestines kind of hate me, and I thought it would be nice to clean them out a bit, along with the extra added benefit of perhaps losing a few pounds without completely starving myself. “BPC is about nourishment, NOT deprivation. Our [their] live juice Cleanse both removes toxins and promotes healing simply by supplying the blood with vitamins, minerals and enzymes that one is able to easily assimilate.”

So enough background. I’ve got six juices to drink per day for 3 days. You drink them in order from 1 to 6 every one to two hours. In between you’re supposed to drink lots of water and/or herbal tea (to combat that caffeine headache I’ll inevitably get from no coffee). I started out this morning with my first Green Juice. It contains green apple, spinach, kale, celery, romaine, cucumber, parsley and lemon. A lot of people say the green juice is hard to get down, but it was fine for me. It tasted a bit like a salad with some apples on top, sweet, but green and fresh. Since I have no other green juices to compare it too I can’t say it was good or bad, but definitely not something I’d drink all the time!

Here’s the juice bar that is my fridge. All lined up and ready to drink!

So far I’m not hungry, but I do have a slight caffeine headache. I drank some green tea, but it’s still not as much caffeine as my usual coffee (which I stopped drinking on Saturday to prepare). I just started sipping my second juice, P.A.M (pineapple, apple, mint). I’m going to post a full review of all the juices tomorrow, so stay tuned!

If you need me I’ll be juicing (but not the Jersey Shore way…)

